Welcome aboard

My real name’s Valerie. Although my friends have always saddled me with all kinds of silly nicknames (some of them I do not even have the slightest idea where they come from and I have no other option but to put up with them), for the first time in my life, I get to decide what name I will go with…. And I say Andronana!

 This is no big news, we – women – have a different perspective than men. New technologies can sometimes be hard to grasp and are very often developed and by men.. so basically with a man’s perspective.

Now, I would just say that I was not born a natural geek –who understands really rapidly everything about new technologies. In fact, when you keep hearing people around you (and I am talking about male friends here, saying that new technologies are a men’s world, and women are not good at it, you kind of assimilate this idea, which I think I did.

And then, things happen.

I bought a smartphone. Waouu. Big time (for me anyway, who so far had only used phone booth –watch out for the metaphor here!). And I started to be interested in this new technology, Android.

Of Course, there were and still are times when I struggle with my phone to get where I want to. It takes time and patience to understand the system, especially when you start from scratch. A novice, for sure, this is what I am, but a highly interested and motivated one.

Most of blogs which cover android theme are men’s created. Although I have come to notice that more and more of these blogs do have a “women section”, I have not found so many blogs yet that could be entirely dedicated to women, and by that I mean, that women could feel like reading from top to bottom because it seems interesting to them.

I do not want to arouse feminists’ anger when I say that my intention here, with this blog, is to appeal to other women, who might be interested in new technologies if only these were explained and put up with simple words. Or rather, with women’s words. Because it is true, that even if some highly skilled new tech’ women are behind computers, for the rest of us – women- we do not always understand it because society, very unconsciously has taught us not too.

Here is a very interesting and funny video of a woman discussing Why do women matter in Android ?

This summarizes very well my thoughts concerning Android and women.

So in this blog, you will find some (it can never be exhaustive) applications and latest news that can catch women’s attention.

For example, this Menstruation Calendar App, which basically helps women keep track of their cycle, temperature, weight and other useful information.

You will also get some top, fresh news from what’s going on here, in the USA, but also oversee, well more precisely what’s going on in France.

Again, an example : The French Touch in QR codes..  You might wonder what this is about?  Well, QR codes (Quick Response codes) is a type of 2D bar code that may be decoded using your smartphone with a QR code reader.. so far we knew this app existed. But now, the newness lies here: these QR codes can be colored and so turned into funkier app’.

Or else, that In Europe, Android is getting ahead of iOS in terms of Smartphones, enabling it to get closer to Number 1 Position. Good news!

So do you think you might be interested in this blog? Then I guess I’ll see you around.

Leave a Reply

